World Cup Highlights

World Cup Highlights: Will Lionel Messi and Manuel Neuer win back their title again? Or will we have new title holders for this coming tournament


World Cup Highlights

Photo Credit: Bleacher Report

With the world cup fast approaching there are some speculations about who will win the Golden Ball at the 2018 World Cup in Russia? Will it be Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo? What about the Golden Glove recipient of the historical world event of the year? Here’s some things you need to know some details about the previous players who won the their spot on the previous World Cup Tournaments.

Fans from different part of the world can begin on choosing their pick to win not just the competition but for the awards that will come with it. There’s the Golden Glove, Golden Ball, Best Young Player and a few lesser known awards.

Before the World Cup happening in Russia, we have reviewed and gathered information about the big awards, who gained it in the past and would possibly get them up again on this coming event.

The Golden Ball is present to the best player of each FIFA World Cup Finals of the tournament, from the list made by the technical committee of FIFA and the winner voted by the representatives of the media. FIFA committee might like to consider looking back at the voting process to avoid negative speculations towards the selections in the future by being transparent to the crowd.

Golden Ball previous winners

2014 – Lionel Messi

2010 – Diego Forlan

2006 – Zinedine Zidane

2002 – Oliver Kahn

1998 – Ronaldo

1994 – Romario

1990 – Salvatore Schillaci

1986 – Diego Maradona

1982 – Paolo Rossi

(Click FIFA World Cup Promotion to stay on latest news about the tournament)

Neymar has higher position than Ronaldo in the odds for the 2018 Golden Ball, the Brazil are the favourites to win the tournament having most of the bookmakers on their side has a large impact on the results.

Sitting at the same spot or we might say same odds as the Brazilian, Messi has the reputation as the current holder of the award, that’s why it’s clear that Brazil and Germany are the join-favourite to keep the title.

2018 Golden Ball odds

Lionel Messi – 8/1

Neymar – 8/1

Cristiano Ronaldo – 16/1

Antoine Griezmann – 16/1

Kevin De Bruyne – 16/1

David Silva – 20/1

Gabriel Jesus – 25/1

Paul Pogba – 25/1

The Golden Glove also known as “adidas Golden Glove” awarded to the best goalkeeper of the tournament, it is previously named as “Lev Yashin’s Award” to honour the former goalkeeper Lev Yashin, this name was used from 1994 to 2006 for the best goalkeeper who was first awarded in 1994. Choosing the winner for this category is decide by the FIFA Technical Study Group. Iker Casillas, Oliver Kahn and Gianluigi Buffon are the previous winners.

Golden Glove previous winners

2014 – Manuel Neuer

2010 – Iker Casillas

2006 – Gianluigi Buffon

2002 – Oliver Kahn

1998 – Fabien Barthez

1994 – Michel Preud’homme

1990 – Sergio Goycochea

1986 – Jean-Marie Pfaff

1982 – Dino Zoff


To get the lastest FIFA World Cup Update sign up to 12BET.