FIFA World Cup Update

FIFA World Cup Update: Manchester United continued to be the record holder as the only club to supply players for every England team


FIFA World Cup Update

Photo Credit: Independent.CO.UK

Manchester United retained the record of the only club to yield players in representing England football squad as manager Gareth Southgate name is running 2018 World Cup squad last Wednesday. Having this kind of record is highly a great news because having players from the big six will make a large impact in the competition and would give them the opportunity to ace the World Cup.

Included to make up the Red Devils is Phil Jones, Ashley Young, Jesse Lingard and Marcus Rashford to travel to Russia for the tournament and representing the World cup and European Championship England they have appeared in, started way back from Henry Cockburn and John Aston at the 1950 World Cup.

The four addition in the team are very much likely in the same skillset same as their other players that they had in a squad – it is their seventh time to achieve the mark that they want during England’s last 10 tournaments.

Having the most players Tottenham has five in this year’s squad with England manager Southgate tapping in Kieran Trippier and Danny Rose, midfielders Eric Dier and Dele Alli and striker Harry Kane to complete the squad as their representative on the Russia 2018 World Cup.

(Be updated in World Cup Power Rankings)

Liverpool had Jordan Henderson and Trent Alexander-Arnold to represent for the coming competition, but in the overall selections United of 66 to 65. If they had a playmaker like Adam Lallana the Reds could have a better future and be able to utilize his playmaking to make impacts on the tournament.

For the record of single tournament with six inclusions, including Glen Johnson, Steven Gerrard, Martin Kelly, Jordan Henderson, Andy Carroll and Stewart Downing during Euro 2012 and Ray Clemence, Phil Neal, Phil Thompson, David Johnson, Terry McDermott and Ray Kennedy in 1980.

17 out of 23 players were provided by the Premier League’s ‘big six’ and the other players chosen by Southgate, includes Kyle Walker, John Stones, Raheem Sterling and Fabian Delph from champions Manchester accompanying Arsenal’s Danny Welbeck and Chelsea defender Gary Cahill.

In line with the latest trend – the last six tournaments had an average of 17, with a peak of 19 at the Euro 2012 and 2006 World Cup, and no show in 2014 results to a low of 15. In 2010 the only other top club not being constituted by England squad were the Arsenal.

The absence of Joe Hart would mean that goalkeepers will be coming from the big six includes:

Everton – Jordan Pickford,

Stoke – Jack Butland

Burnley -Nick Pope.

Leicester – Harry Maguire and Jamie Vardy

Crystal Palace – Ruben Loftus-Cheek

Want to get latest news click Win World Cup and find out more about World Cup

Having this lineup confirmed by Southgate they are indeed a powerhouse in the approaching tournament and would give as an entertaining matches to showcase their talents as players and be able to achieve the dream of winning the tournament and achieving special awards.

Sign up with 12bet World Cup

The following two tabs change content below.